Tired of the Turmoil

Sometimes life is like a lazy river, drifting by peacefully. And other times it’s like the rapids with the turbulence sending you first one way and then another. This fall has been the rapids, and I’m ready for some calm waters.

I’ve seen a lot of elections – remember I’m a member of the slide rule generation – but I’ve never witnessed anything like this one, and I hope I never do again. In the past, my friends and I would talk about the candidates, argue for our choices, debate the policies each party touted, and have a good time doing it. Not this time. This year I’m afraid to find out who my friends may be supporting. I’m afraid I’ll see them differently  I don’t even know who my relatives are voting for, and I don’t want to know. And my friends and family must feel the same way as no one’s asking me who I’m voting for or what I think. That’s sad, and a little bit scary.

The campaigns and all the surrounding controversies have become all-consuming. Inboxes overflow with dramatic appeals for donations and over the top condemnations of the opposing side. This election has been deemed entertaining and engaging by a lot of the media, but I’ve got another word for it – unsettling,

Personally I’ll just be glad when it’s over, when I no longer cringe whenever the commercials start on TV. I record everything I want to see on TV and watch it later, including the news, just so I won’t have to sit through the political ads. I’m not even answering my phone these days unless I know who’s on the other end. I don’t want to hear anything else either party has to say.

I’ve “unsubscribed” to everyone who’s been flooding my inbox with doom and gloom political e-mails. I’m shredding political mailings without reading the first word. At this point the campaigns are wasting their time and money on me. I’ve already voted. I’m done.

Time for me to get out of this turbulence. Time to head back to Terah.

 

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

