Countdown Deal on The Fourteenth Key

This is the first time I’ve taken advantage of the Countdown Deal Amazon offers on books in the Unlimited program. From Sunday morning, Sept 13, through Saturday evening, Sept. 20, The Fourteenth Key will be on sale in the US and UK stores. (Unfortunately the Countdown Deal isn’t offered in any of the other outlets. )

The Fourteenth Key is also available for free through the Kindle Unlimited program and will continue to be free to anyone enrolled in that program during the sale.

Hope you enjoy it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Countdown Deal on The Fourteenth Key

  1. John says:

    ANY plans updates for a fourth book?

    • mcknzmorgan says:

      I’ve written about half of the fourth book, The Warrior Elf. I plan to publish before the end of 2016, but I can’t say when at this point. I’ll post an update when I finish the first draft.

      • Thank you for the heads up. While I don’t think it’s a reasonable expectation to feel owed constant updates on progress by an author, at the same time, as a reader, it is incredibly frustrating when you have to wait 6 months to a year, or even longer to find out if the author is even still alive much less continuing work on their book. I’m not singling you out personally, I know of at least 2 other authors who do this, although one at least has medical issues as an excuse.

        I, and I would imagine many other readers out there, try to exercise patience, but I won’t lie, when you don’t hear from an author for 6+ months, you begin to wonder if it’s worth the wait. And yes, I do think social media is to blame for this. Used to be that I would just wait until the local bookstore added an author I was familiar with to the Upcoming Books board behind the counter. But in this day and age of instant access, patience is a bygone virtue.

      • mcknzmorgan says:

        You have a valid point. I don’t engage in social media very often, and to be honest, I doubt that’s going to change. I hate trying to come up with something to say when I really have nothing of interest to share. I don’t have a Facebook page even though I’ve had quite a few people tell me I really need one. But if I did have one, I’d face the same problem there that I do here. What do you say when you have nothing to say?

        I usually post whenever I run a special on one or all of the books, but I doubt that’s what you want to know. I do answer questions though, whether they’re posted here or on my Author Page at Amazon. And I answer each and every email sent to my Mackenzie Morgan account. So my best advice is whenever you wonder if I’m still working, or even if I’m still alive, send a note to mcknzmorgan@gmail.com and I’ll get back to you, usually within 24 hours.

        In the meantime, I’d like to thank you for caring enough about the next book to wonder if it’s still on track for publication. I hope to publish The Warrior Elf sometime this year, but until the first draft is done and I’m working on the rewrite I can’t say much more than that.

  2. I’d like to give you the same advice I just gave another author that I’m acquainted with. Take a look at the following authors in order of active updates, Drew Hayes, Larry Correia, Michael Bailey, Jim Butcher, etc. They post, even if they have nothing to say about updates, about their hobbies.

    Drew Hayes makes a weekly blog post on his site, sometimes it’s about a hobby, a topic that occurred to him, and many times it’s a small, roughly 2-3 paragraph, post about writing. He picks some aspect of the process that he has something to say about, and then imparts his wisdom.

    Larry Correia regularly posts about his hobby, modifying and painting miniatures for tabletop games, an interest that he shares with his daughter I believe it was. While he doesn’t post every week, it shows that he’s still around. While the hobby angle is a good one, his frequency posting to social media is not something I imagine you want to emulate.

    Michael Bailey speaks about his work, his wife’s work, their time spent regularly at the Renaissance Faire.

    And Jim Butcher does much the same in regards to his LARPing. Now he only posts about it like once a month, but still it’s activity.

    I’m not trying to forcibly encourage you to do any of these. It just happens that I was having a conversation like this two days back.

Leave a Reply

