Crash Wagon by Jason Eric Pryor – Quite a Treat

I picked up Crash Wagon: Book One – Family Ties Saturday after I read a post that intrigued me enough that I checked out the blurb. That was all it took. I bought the book.

I was too busy Saturday to read anything, but I started it while I was eating breakfast Sunday morning. Sunday was another busy day, so I didn’t get back to it until evening. I picked it up while I was eating dinner, with the intention of reading for a bit and then retiring to the den to watch some TV. Well, the TV never did get turned on, and by the time I went to bed, I’d finished the book. It was quite a treat.

I like Sci-Fi, provided it’s heavy on the story and light on the science. And Crash Wagon fits that bill. I don’t want to give the story away, but the basic idea is that the Crash Wagon is a search and rescue vessel working between Earth and Mars.

The first book was like the pilot episode of a TV series where you meet the crew and watch how they interact with each other as they face an attack on one of their own. There’s a captain, a pilot, a first mate, a security officer, an engineer, and a doctor. And that’s it. Small enough that you can quickly get to know them and care about them.

Crash Wagon brought back memories of one of my favorite TV series, Firefly. It wasn’t close enough that I felt like it was a copy, but it definitely had the flavor. If you’re a Firefly fan too, I’m confident that you’ll enjoy this series. 

(The links in the body of the post are for Amazon.com. Crash Wagon is also available at Amazon.uk, de, fr, es, it, jp, in, ca, and br, If you’d like to know a little more about the series, visit Jason’s Facebook Page.)

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

